Member States and Observers

The International Organisation of Vine and Wine is an intergovernmental organisation made up of Member states.

The Agreement of 3 April 2001 was signed by 35 sovereign States and was subjected to different internal procedures (approval, acceptance or ratification). The Agreement went into force on 1 January 2004, following the deposit of the 31st instrument of ratification.

As of 27 August 2015 the International Organisation of Vine and Wine was made up of 46 Member states.

Member States:

Algeria/Argentina/Armenia/Australia/Austria/Azerbaijan/Belgium/Bosnia-Herzegovina/Brazil/Bulgaria/Chile/Croatia/Cyprus/Czech Republic/France/Georgia/Germany/Greece/Hungary/India/Israel/Italy/Lebanon/Luxemburg/FYR Macedonia/Malta/Mexico/Moldavia/Montenegro/Morocco/Netherlands/New Zealand/Norway/Peru/Portugal/Romania/Russia/Serbia/Slovakia/Slovenia/South Africa/Spain/Sweden/Switzerland/Turkey/Uruguay


The international treaty of 3 April 2001 also enables some territories and organisations to participate in the OIV works as observers.

AIDV - International Wine Law Association

Amorim Academy

AREV - Assembly of Wine-Producing European Regions

AUIV - International University Association of Wine

EU - European Union 

CERVIM - Centre for Research, Environmental Sustainability and Advancement of Mountain Viticulture

FIVS - International Federation of Wines and Spirits

OENOPPIA - Oenological Products and Practices International Association

UIOE - Union Internationale des Œnologues

VINOFED - World Federation of Major International Wine and Spirits Competitions

ASI - Association de la Sommellerie Internationale

WIM - Wine in Moderation

Yantaï (China), prefecture-level municipality

Ningxia Hui autonomous region, China